Retrieving data from broken external HDD
    Hi
    I recently dropped my external 3TB USB3 Seagate hard drive on the floor. Now when I plug it into my MacBook Pro it does not mount and I can't see it in Finder. The disk is formatted to Mac OS Extended Journaled. However, I can see the disk in Disk Utility.

Clicking 'Verify Disk' shows: Error: This disk needs to be repaired
    Clicking 'Repair Disk' shows: Error: Disk Utility canít repair this disk. Back up as many of your files as possible, reformat the disk, and restore your backed-up files.

I can format the hard drive though, indicating to me that hard drive is still working, but something data for reading the disk is missing (although I'm not an expert).

Basically I was wondering if there is any way to get all the data off the hard drive so I could format it so it works properly again? I thought of using recovery programs but I don't think the files are actually deleted and also I would really like to keep the folder organisation and file names (which recovery programs do not).

Thanks in advance

Specs:
    Imac 27" Retina 5K, 512GB flash memory, 3.3GHz, 16GB memory, macOS Sierra beta.
    Try Data Rescue 3 from Prosoft. Here is a link to a trial version which will give you some ideas if you can access the information on the drive before you outlay the purchase price. But all of it ~ that is a big, big ask.

Data Recovery Software | Download Free Trial for Data Rescue 3 | Prosofteng
    Hang on to those original install discs like grim death! Using OS X.7 or later make a bootable USB thumb drive before running Installer!

Specs:
    Late 2013 27" iMac, iPad 3, iPhone 6s+, iPhone 6+, 3 iPods, El Capitan
    Your only hope of extracting data from the drive is to use recovery software. Data Rescue 3 is one of the best and it does keep the folder and file structure if possible. It's $99 US but you can download a trial version to see how well it does on recovery.

Harry types faster than me!