Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Other Hardware and Peripherals (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/)
-   -   Adding RAM (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/293566-adding-ram.html)

mick719 01-17-2013 06:38 PM

Adding RAM
 
How much RAM can I install with a 2x2.8 GHz Quad-Core. I am currently at 2 GHz RAM. Thanks.

chscag 01-17-2013 07:41 PM

Without telling us the exact year and model number, I can only guess....

You have a 2010 2.8 GHz 15" MBP? Probably 8 GB is max. ??

pigoo3 01-17-2013 09:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick719 (Post 1488364)
How much RAM can I install with a 2x2.8 GHz Quad-Core. I am currently at 2 GHz RAM. Thanks.

I'm assuming you are talking about a Mac Pro (8 cores). The only Mac Pro that fits the specs you listed (from 2008) has a max. ram of 32 gig...and it must be installed in pairs.

I would advise one of these places to order it from...since the ram you need has a special heatsink attached to it:

OWC
Crucial

- Nick

p.s. FYI...the ram for this model Mac Pro is very pricey!!!

mick719 01-19-2013 11:12 AM

does to have to be soldered in?

CrimsonRequiem 01-19-2013 12:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick719 (Post 1488730)
does to have to be soldered in?

No. You just push it into place.

mick719 01-19-2013 01:11 PM

the reason why I ask is that a poster said a special heat sink is attached to the chip.

louishen 01-19-2013 01:21 PM

If you are talking about the Mac pro, then they are very specific server RAM, so you will have to get the exact correct RAM with the heat sinks, not the cheaper generic RAM (which has different pin slots)

You may notice that Mac Pro RAM Pin indent is slightly off centre so you have to buy RAM that is specifically for the model of Mac Pro you have, it costs more but you cannot install the cheaper stuff

pigoo3 01-19-2013 01:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick719 (Post 1488759)
the reason why I ask is that a poster said a special heat sink is attached to the chip.

The heat sinks already come attached to the ram. If you visited the links provided above...and went to the ram you need for your computer...you would see the heatsinks attached to the ram.

- Nick

mick719 01-19-2013 02:28 PM

is that the 4 metal clips attached to the top of the chip?

pigoo3 01-19-2013 02:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick719 (Post 1488784)
is that the 4 metal clips attached to the top of the chip?

Yes...the metal clips secure the heatsinks to the ram. But you really do not need to be concerned about this. Just order the ram..and the heatsinks will come with the ram...already be attached.

- Nick

mick719 01-19-2013 03:27 PM

Thanks much, and to all who answered my query.

pigoo3 01-19-2013 03:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mick719 (Post 1488801)
Thanks much, and to all who answered my query.

Good luck. Enjoy the ram upgrade if you decide to do it.:)

- Nick


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.