footballsh0rty
    External Hard drive
    I have a mac mini and i am fairly new to macs and i want to get an external hard drive. I want about 150G drive no more than $200. So if any of you guys have a good one that fits my requirments or just some good companys that make some good external drives.
    Thanks

I just bought a 160 gb external usb segate harddrive from bestbuy for my imac g5 for only 89 dollars. I really like it. Osx recognized it right away.
    I recommend it.
    Quote Originally Posted by footballsh0rty
    I have a mac mini and i am fairly new to macs and i want to get an external hard drive. I want about 150G drive no more than $200. So if any of you guys have a good one that fits my requirments or just some good companys that make some good external drives.
    Thanks

Specs:
    ibook G4 14in
    i'll second a seagate drive. i recently bought an internal and used an external housing. 200gig seagate and external both for <$200.

my apple is bling *tisk tisk, you shouldn't have any bling.. just nice things*

Quote Originally Posted by footballsh0rty
    I have a mac mini and i am fairly new to macs and i want to get an external hard drive.
    Make sure you get a Firewire drive (Firewire 400, no need for Firewire 800).

You can't boot from a USB drive and USB 2.0 is approx 2 X slower than Firewire 400 for reading and writing hard drives.

I love the LaCie Firewire Porsche drives; I have two. I know the 160gb one can be had for ~$120. Check www.macmall.com.
    DJ Lee

Watts Up Productions
    www.wattsupproductions.com

footballsh0rty
    Quote Originally Posted by djlee12
    I love the LaCie Firewire Porsche drives; I have two. I know the 160gb one can be had for ~$120. Check www.macmall.com.
    Hey,
    I am really looking into this Lacie Firewire Porsche drive, so i was just wondering how long you've had your two drives.
    Thanks