New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

First TM backup to TC erroring out

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

xdunlapx

xdunlapx is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: cMBP 13" mid-2012, 2.9 ghz i7, 8gb ram, 256 gb SSD,

I'm trying to figure out how to fix this. I'm brand new to Mac computers and mac peripherals. I'm using my Time Capsule as a router and a backup drive. Or at least trying to. I have the router part set up fine. It works. Now in Time Machine it continuously says "preparing backup" until it errors out. I can't remember the error right now but it wont connect. It has something to do with my auto-created folder on the TC. I'm waiting for it to time out again so I can tell you the error. I don't know how long it'll take to error out but it seems to be taking forever. I was away from the computer for a while when it errored out.

The icon in the menu bar for TM showed an exclamation point in it though.

I do have the TC set up as the backup drive. There are 2TB out of 2TB left on the drive, I haven't had any successful backups yet. Today is my first day with my new MBP and TC.

I can't find any info on the internet that I think is relavent.. So that's why I'm asking here. I hope you guru's can help me.

EDIT::: The backup disk image “/Volumes/Time Capsule/Brittany’s MacBook Pro.sparsebundle” could not be created (error 17).