New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Firewire question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

pattylt

pattylt is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: iMac 27" 3.4GHz i7 8G ram: rMBP 15" i7 16G ram: iPad4: iPhone 5

I just purchased my first Mac and while being well versed in the Windows world, I am a newbie with some of the Mac connections.
I purchased a 2T backup external that is Firewire 800 and Tbolt compatible.

First question: In looking at Firewire cables (cause the external only comes with USB) I am confused by the designation of 6/9 pin connectors (though I do know what the "pins" are) and many list as being 400/800. Do I want to avoid these and find ones that are only 800?

Tbolt: So far, the prices of these are extremely high compared to Firewire. If I am using this primarily as a backup/storage device, do I really need to spend so much more?

Any guidance is appreciated as I muddle my way through my drop dead gorgeous new iMac.
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute