New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Graphic Tablets - Useful or Headache?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

SPOW05

Hey all. I've heard mixed reviews on multiple graphic tablets. I'm a graphic designer, and I do a lot of cartooning. Are graphic tablets useful to those of you who are in similar trades? What about bluetooth models? Any information/advice would be helpful. Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
thermidor

thermidor will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: Powerbook 17" 1.5GHz, 2GB, 160GB Momentus; iMac 24" 3.06GHz, 2GB; iPhone 2.5G 8GB; iPod 5G 60GB

I use a Wacom USB tablet of about A5 size, not sure what but it's a few years old. I'm not a professional designer but I do a fair bit of moderately serious photo manipulation in Photoshop. I find the tablet's excellent. For serious work it beats the heck out of a mouse.

Why? (a) accuracy and control; (b) user interface, such as touch-sensitivity which can be used to control colour, tool size, etc.

If your alternative is a mouse, then I can't see how you can do without a tablet. If you have other options - such as a touch screen - then YMMV.
QUOTE Thanks
SPOW05

Thanks for the advice. I am seriously considering purchasing one. They make a lot of sense, they are just so expensive. If they truly help with accuracy, I feel it would be a great purchase!
QUOTE Thanks
sandals1621