Data recovery on MAC HDD?
    Hey guys, I am not familiar with MAC's, I am a pc tech, friend of mine asked me to recover data from his hdd, my research on the net on this shows:

You see the only difference between a "Mac hard drive" and a "Windows PC hard drive" is the file system. A "Mac hard drive" is formatted using HFS or HFS+ while a "Windows PC hard drive" is either FAT or NTFS. The physical hard drive, the actual hardware, is the exact same and will work on a Mac and Windows PC both. A "Mac hard drive" will work just fine on a Windows PC (after a little work).

but's it's those words in bold that I am questioning, normally I would attach a HDD to my main pc as a slave and access the drive's info then copy it to my unit's drive, can I do the same with the MAC drive too please?

Specs:
    4GB Mac Mini 2012, 13" MBA, 15" MacBook Pro OSX 10.7, 32 GB iPhone 3GS, iPad2 64gb 3G
    Quote Originally Posted by mikehende View Post
    Hey guys, I am not familiar with MAC's, I am a pc tech, friend of mine asked me to recover data from his hdd, my research on the net on this shows:

You see the only difference between a "Mac hard drive" and a "Windows PC hard drive" is the file system. A "Mac hard drive" is formatted using HFS or HFS+ while a "Windows PC hard drive" is either FAT or NTFS. The physical hard drive, the actual hardware, is the exact same and will work on a Mac and Windows PC both. A "Mac hard drive" will work just fine on a Windows PC (after a little work).

but's it's those words in bold that I am questioning, normally I would attach a HDD to my main pc as a slave and access the drive's info then copy it to my unit's drive, can I do the same with the MAC drive too please?