New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Data recovery on MAC HDD?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

mikehende

mikehende is on a distinguished road

Hey guys, I am not familiar with MAC's, I am a pc tech, friend of mine asked me to recover data from his hdd, my research on the net on this shows:

You see the only difference between a "Mac hard drive" and a "Windows PC hard drive" is the file system. A "Mac hard drive" is formatted using HFS or HFS+ while a "Windows PC hard drive" is either FAT or NTFS. The physical hard drive, the actual hardware, is the exact same and will work on a Mac and Windows PC both. A "Mac hard drive" will work just fine on a Windows PC (after a little work).

but's it's those words in bold that I am questioning, normally I would attach a HDD to my main pc as a slave and access the drive's info then copy it to my unit's drive, can I do the same with the MAC drive too please?
QUOTE Thanks
RavingMac

RavingMac has a reputation beyond reputeRavingMac has a reputation beyond reputeRavingMac has a reputation beyond reputeRavingMac has a reputation beyond reputeRavingMac has a reputation beyond reputeRavingMac has a reputation beyond reputeRavingMac has a reputation beyond reputeRavingMac has a reputation beyond reputeRavingMac has a reputation beyond reputeRavingMac has a reputation beyond reputeRavingMac has a reputation beyond repute