I have a MackBook Pro with Time Capsule.

The last couple of days I've gotten the following message:

"Time Machine completed a verification of your backups. To improve reliability, Time Machine must create a new backup for you."

I have two options. To "Start Backup Now." If I select this option, it tells me the process will take several hours. My second option is to "Remind Me Later" and it will remind me a day later.

My question: Is this a legitimate process? My internal radar goes off when I see messages like this, and I'm suspicious of malicious activity. I've had the MacBook and Time Capsule for about 9 months now, and this is the first time I've seen this message popup on my screen.

Thanks for any assistance!