Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Other Hardware and Peripherals (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/)
-   -   Airport Express.. Worth it? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/259790-airport-express-worth.html)

jmart193 12-07-2011 06:42 PM

Airport Express.. Worth it?
 
Hello, I am thinking about buying an airport express... The internet in my house is a little slow and I was wondering would an airport express would make the internet faster? My other question is that if you set up the airport express, do you have to have the ethernet connected all the time?
Thanks

osxx 12-07-2011 06:55 PM

Unless your current wireless router is bad or acting up you will not see a speed gain but you will have the ability to run a USB printer from a remote location besides being able to connect the optical out to your Hi-Fi for bit perfect output.
The set up depends on how its setup most use it to join a wireless which does not use an ethernet cable. The instructions and setup can be downloaded at Apple' website so
you can have an idea before you purchase it also has a great help feature.

Rasser 12-08-2011 11:32 AM

External hard drive is not supported in the Express, only Extreme!

BrianLachoreVPI 12-08-2011 12:34 PM

I doubt it - but there's no conclusive answer without knowing what's causing your connection to be slow to begin with. If you start with isolating that - it'll be easer to suggest a fix. In either case - the Express isn't really a bandaid for slow connections unless you're really struggling with signal strength. By introducing the Express as a network extender - you automatically reduce available bandwidth in the first place. I'd recommend looking more closely at your current router, both brand and placement and see if there's room for improvement there.

osxx 12-08-2011 01:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rasser (Post 1337655)
External hard drive is not supported in the Express, only Extreme!

You are correct I stand corrected.

Dysfunction 12-08-2011 02:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BrianLachoreVPI (Post 1337690)
I doubt it - but there's no conclusive answer without knowing what's causing your connection to be slow to begin with. If you start with isolating that - it'll be easer to suggest a fix. In either case - the Express isn't really a bandaid for slow connections unless you're really struggling with signal strength. By introducing the Express as a network extender - you automatically reduce available bandwidth in the first place. I'd recommend looking more closely at your current router, both brand and placement and see if there's room for improvement there.

Yep, it works real well for me in that it extended my network into my living room (and to devices that are ethernet only, and I really hate pulling cable through roofs). Aside from that, I needed a WAP on a business trip.

BrianLachoreVPI 12-08-2011 04:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dysfunction (Post 1337743)
Yep, it works real well for me in that it extended my network into my living room (and to devices that are ethernet only, and I really hate pulling cable through roofs). Aside from that, I needed a WAP on a business trip.

Yes - it's my WAP as well for trips. Can't beat it and I'm surprised at how many places still don't have wireless deployed throughout.

Dysfunction 12-08-2011 04:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BrianLachoreVPI (Post 1337785)
Yes - it's my WAP as well for trips. Can't beat it and I'm surprised at how many places still don't have wireless deployed throughout.

Does a great job of streaming music over the miniTOS port to my stereo too O:)

jmart193 12-08-2011 09:36 PM

Okay so if I bring it on trips for example, do I just plug it into the wall and it will create a wireless connection, or do I need to bring an Ethernet cable with me?

BrianLachoreVPI 12-08-2011 10:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmart193 (Post 1337889)
Okay so if I bring it on trips for example, do I just plug it into the wall and it will create a wireless connection, or do I need to bring an Ethernet cable with me?


You plug the hotel's wired ethernet into the Airport Express then just plug it into the wall.

Dysfunction 12-08-2011 11:41 PM

Most hotels I've stayed at have a cable in the room, assuming they don't provide wifi. That said in recent years I've been staying at hyatts and it's not been an issue. At least for work.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.