New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

G-Drive for macbook pro

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

gavin

gavin is on a distinguished road

Hows it going guys im new to this so bare with me if im in the wrong sections or something.

I just bought a g drive (external hard drive) 750gb and had a question im pretty sure i know the answer to it but for a better piece of mind i just wanted to double check.

After backing everything up to this gdrive thru time machine am i able to delete the original files off my macintosh hd to free up some space? and if i need the files i deleted i can just go through them from the time machine. correct?

thanks for any help and responses
QUOTE Thanks
Stretch

Stretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud ofStretch has much to be proud of
Mac Specs: 15in i7 MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 60GB SSD, 500GB HD

You can, but if the G-Drive gets full, Time Machine will start to delete older items.

Blog and Photo Gallery: http://philolin.me/

Currently running OS X 10.9
QUOTE Thanks
chscag