New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

ssd OSX TRIM possible solution

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

craigmackem

craigmackem is on a distinguished road

Just put a new intel ssd into my macbook. seems common knowledge that OSX does not support TRIM. Point out that i am a total newbie to this therefore render myself clueless. but i may have found a solution to this TRIM problem that slows SSD drives down. im sure that all u experts will shoot me down in flames but here goes. I set a 50 gig partition on my ssd and realised that it was filling up when i am not installing stuff...this must be the write thing that never gets cleaned under OSX due to lack of TRIM. monitored it using daisydisk and disk utility. daisy disk reported 16 gig free and disk utility recorded 24 gig free. selected my SSD 50 gig partition in disk utility and selected erase. selected erase free space. then zero out. ran it took 5 mins to do and daisydisk reported 26 gig free and disk utility also reported 26 gig free. one program reported 10 gig free space gain and the the other reported a 2 gig gain. using the xdisk benchmark utility all the write speeds seemed to improve by a little bit...and the read speeds stayed the same. this drive has only been in my macbook 1 day. maybe its a solution maybe its not. but both programs i ran said an increase in free space. any ideas ppl..... my only thoughts are that this is such a simple thing to do sum1 m