When I went to sync, I selected 'merge' which I thought would not erase either calendar, but merge them together.

WELL...it erased my iPhone calendar completely. I just did an 'iPhone backup' when I updated my OS to 4.0.1. Is there any way to restore my iPhone calendar back to what it was before that blown sync?

Thanks for any info guys.