New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Magic Mouse Pairing Problem after Battery Change

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

docbombay

docbombay is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 21.5" iMac, Snow Leopard, 1TB HD, 8GB, 3.06 GHz

I'm a newbie to Mac and just had to change my magic mouse batteries for the first time. Once I did so, the mouse wouldn't pair with the computer. I tried to check the bluetooth settings, but I couldn't (of course) since the mouse was not yet functional. I tried to restart using the power button, and a message informed me that System Preferences was open and preventing restart (I didn't open Sys. Pref.). At this point, the Bluetooth manager window came on (underneath the Sys. Pref. window) and attempted to connect but just kept running without connecting. I had to resort to unplugging the computer--once it restarted after reconnecting to the outlet, the mouse paired as it should and everything seems fine. After the fact, I found out that I can use Command-Option-Esc to force quit (could have probably done so with Sys. Pref). But I'm wondering why this problem might have occurred in the first place and how to avoid it. Thanks for any input.

docbombay

"Everything should be made as simple as possible--but not simpler." -- Albert Einstein
QUOTE Thanks
prrs4me

prrs4me is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: MBP 17"(2.8 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB mem), 21.5" Imac, 15" MBP (2.4 ghz) all running ML