Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Other Hardware and Peripherals (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/)
-   -   Possible to use existing NAS with MAC in a Windows environment? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/189058-possible-use-existing-nas-mac-windows-environment.html)

willrmurphy 01-30-2010 11:38 PM

Possible to use existing NAS with MAC in a Windows environment?
 
Hi everyone,

I don't actually have my new Mac yet but will be buying a 21.5" iMac on Monday. This will be my first Mac ever. My question is this...I have a Western Digital 1TB NAS drive that is being used by my other 3 Windows PC's. Is it possible for the new iMac to also back up to that NAS drive? Can the Windows PC's and the iMac all access the data on the drive?

I'm sorry if this is in the wrong forum or if this question already exists but am hoping to get some help.

Thanks

Kash 01-31-2010 12:46 AM

Network drives work on any platform that supports the necessary networking protocols. That means any operating system with a half decent network stack should be able to access a NAS drive.

Short answer: yes :P


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.