New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Mac sound card: What is it?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

folksteve

folksteve is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Macbook 2GHz OSX Snow Leopard

Im quite new to the mac world having used microsoft since windows 95 and various linux distros and am thoroughly enjoying it (IT JUST WORKS!!) .

Im trying to find out what the built in sound cards are in the white Macbooks and Mac Pros, i've looked around and there seems to be no info .

The reason i'm looking is that i know that Mac sound cards don't have a small GM card in them anymore, instead they use Quicktime GM to play back MIDI sounds. I just cant find any written evidence of this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
QUOTE Thanks
pigoo3

pigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 13" MB 2.4ghz, 2gig ram, OS 10.7.5

I'm not totally sure what specific info you're looking for...but if it helps...Mac's really don't have sound cards...the sound processing electronics are built into the motherboard...and always have been.

- Nick