New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Recovering a RAID Drive that won't mount

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Dprime

Dprime is on a distinguished road

Hey guys,

Any advice on this would be throughly appreciated, I'm in a bit of a dilemma.

I recently bought a Lacie 2big Raid drive with 2 x 1 TB drives for backup of my images (I'm a photographer).

Everything was fine, mounted the drive, formatted, and used SilverKeeper to transfer all my previous work onto the drive which was formatted with RAID 1 (mirrored).

The files all seemed to transfer across fine, size was the same, and I had a quick flick through the drive and images where all ok. So needing to use the drive that these images CAME off, I formatted that, and put that to use where it was needed.

So in summary I had the Lacie RAID 1 as my 2 sources of backup at this point. I thought everything was fine at this point.

Now maybe a few months on when I have to track back for files, I noticed quite a few folders had been corrupted, for example, opening a job folder, and every type of image file, jpeg's, tiffs, and PSD's would all say they are corrupt when I tried to open them in Photoshop. Some of these jobs where 20GB of RAW and edited images, all corrupt.

So, reading through my manual for the Lacie, it said I could remove the 2nd drive, without altering the 1st drives data.