New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

MacBook - usb drive - remove automatically

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

tintincute

tintincute is on a distinguished road

Hi

I'm new to Mac and I'm wondering if you can just simply remove your USB stick like in Windows, where you can set it that you can just simply remove it without losing your files?

Can you also do that in Mac or do you have to unmount/remove it properly?

Thanks
QUOTE Thanks
cheese-g-romit

cheese-g-romit is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Macbook 13" 2.1 GHz

you can just eject it by opening 'macintosh HD', and finding the usb in the list, and clicking the eject icon next to it
QUOTE Thanks
tintincute

ok I've tried to eject it and it says that it can't be close because some files are still in use.

If I just take it right away, will I lose my files?
Because in Windows if it's still in use and if you configure the USB stick to just simply take it without losing your files, you can just do that.

Is it the same in Mac?
QUOTE Thanks
cheese-g-romit

youll have to try quitting your applications so that the files are not in use, it usually does this to me so i just take it out, i never lose anything but i'm not recommending it! maybe i just got lucky
QUOTE Thanks
tintincute

ok thanks ;-)
QUOTE Thanks
cheese-g-romit

no prob
QUOTE Thanks
cwa107