New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Power Mac - keyboard and mouse won't work with powered usb hub

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

nordy69

nordy69 is on a distinguished road

Hi,i am new to using macs,i bought one off ebay second hand about a month ago withough realising it has only two usb ports,it is a powermac g4,400mhz hdd,512mb ram running tiger 10.4.11.
Firstly i tried connecting a powered usb hub from one of the original usb ports to plug in either the keyboard or mouse but with no effect.next i installed a usb 4 port pci card internally but again no luck.
i have now tried a second pci usb expansion card but it only seems to work intermittently.
i have several questions that need answering and since i am new to macs but have lots of experience of upgrading windows computers any help would be gratefully received!!!
Firstly,am i right in thinking the mac os should recognise a internal pci card automatically??? the one i have now didnt come with any drivers and there are none on the website even though that and the box state it works with tiger10.4.11.
i have an external usb hdd i use,when i plug that into the original usb port and the k/b and mouse into the expansion card the mouse freezes,is this a problem of the psu not putting out enough power to power everything?? also the k/b is not recognised intermittently???