Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Other Hardware and Peripherals (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/)
-   -   Can't get my Canon MP960 to scan with my iMac (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/148028-cant-get-my-canon-mp960-scan-my-imac.html)

JillianK 04-07-2009 02:51 PM

Can't get my Canon MP960 to scan with my iMac
 
Help!
I have done everything I can think of. I've installed the programs from the cd, I've downloaded all the new drivers. I've unplugged, restarted, turned on, turned off... don't know what else to do.

It prints fine... and will scan when I go through the trial version of Vue Scan, but if I just press the start button the actual printer, nothing happens.
Help!?!

vansmith 04-07-2009 02:55 PM

Will it work if you use Image Capture (/Applications/Image Capture.app)?

JillianK 04-07-2009 04:04 PM

Oh! Yes it does!! I wonder why I can't just hit start like I used to be able to do when it was hooked up to my pc. Strange!

JillianK 04-07-2009 04:06 PM

Oh correction on that.. it will only give me the overview... the actual scan button is greyed out. :(

Lifeisabeach 04-07-2009 04:20 PM

Is your Canon connected by USB directly to your Mac, or to a router for use as a networked printer?

JillianK 04-07-2009 04:22 PM

Nope it's connected by USB directly to the mac.

Lifeisabeach 04-07-2009 05:11 PM

I've done some brief knowledge base searching and am coming up empty-handed. A few years ago, I know that Canon's multi-function printers did not support use of the scanner under OS X, leading me to buy an HP model instead. As far as I can tell, your model is supported under OS X. I think at this point, you have little resort but to call Canon. For all we know, it may simply be broken. *shrug*

hughvane 04-07-2009 07:03 PM

My Canon MP110 won't scan directly from the onboard button either, it's necessary to use the MP Navigator software then was installed on the Mac at setup. If you go via that route, assuming you have the 960 software and/or the install CD, I think you'll find that it works. Bit of a hassle, I know, but you get all the resolution options, colour or grayscale, etc.

Collin Bl 04-10-2009 06:36 PM

Had a Canon MP 760 and scanning was only possible with physical USB connection using MP Navigator - now with Brother MFC wireless both computers on LAN can print and scan wirelessly. With my MBP even found and used another Brother MFC "off site" with zero configuration efforts on my part.
Brother seem to have the Mac's catered for well.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.