New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

external firewire drive got whacked. aaahhh-HELP ME!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

demos-o

oh the irony. while backing up my 60gb external FW back-up drive, it got trashed. don't know how... here are the details:

speedmetal FW+USB case
60GB seagate drive (refurb- bad idea)

was backing up about 55 gb of images (i am a designer) to a second drive. i think i made a mistake and sent the data to a drive smaller than the amount of data i was moving. normally, this action should be dis-allowed, but the mac just started copying the files over. after a huge amount of time, i got a disk error msg. went to the 60gb back-up drive and and it said 55 of 60 gb used, 0 files! what!? it now fails to mount 99 out of 100 times, usually hangs the finder in os 9 and os x and when it does appear to mount i am disllowed access (erroe -35) and diskwarrior, disc doctor, tech tool, etc. don't see it so they can't fix it.

right after the first screw up i was able to mount it via usb only (not fw) in os9 and tech tool pro told me the allocation file (and several others i don't recall) were failed. have never been able to properly mount of test it again since then. even with disc warrior.

any help? anyone? i am encouraged by the "55 gigs used" i saw just after the drive failed, but i just can't get to the drive of any folders in it. any ideas will be great! sorry for the long read.... :confused: