Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   Other Hardware and Peripherals (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/)
-   -   What file system is suitable for both Windows & Mac OS? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/other-hardware-peripherals/105912-what-file-system-suitable-both-windows-mac-os.html)

alan.sury 04-24-2008 06:19 AM

What file system is suitable for both Windows & Mac OS?

Apologies if this question has cropped up before as I'm sure it has. I'm new to Macs, but have a lot of experience repairing PC's I need to recover a customers iTunes from a failing hard drive and copy them to a USB hard drive for use on both a Mac & a Windows XP based system. Can anyone tell me what file structure I should format the removable drive with that will enable me to access it from both OS's?

Alternatively, if there are no common file structures, are there any utilities (free is possible) that allow the Mac to read a USB drive with either Fat32 or NTFS file structure or a PC to read a mac file structure (vice versa)?

Thanks for any help provided.

Regards, Al.

mrplow 04-24-2008 08:25 AM

Format the USB drive with FAT32 and you'll be able to natively read & write on windows and OSX.
Format with NTFS and you'll be able to read/write in windows and read only in OSX

It's possible to use 3rd party drivers to write to NTFS from OSX but that seem overkill for what you need to do.

HTH
mrplow

alan.sury 04-24-2008 09:06 AM

Thanks

Much easier than I imagined!! Thanks for such a quick answer.

kcstieg 05-03-2008 10:23 PM

Since the NTFS file system is the superior form for Windows, is there any possibility anytime that MAC will upgrade its OS so that it can natively read/write to an external drive formatted NTFS? Sure would be nice.

kcstieg

Dysfunction 05-03-2008 11:22 PM

I highly doubt you will see native NTFS write from OS X. There are third party applications that allow this though.

cwa107 05-03-2008 11:33 PM

Quote: