New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
Other Hardware and Peripherals Other Apple systems and peripherals discussion.

Ideas for an External Hard Drive

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

jay2325

jay2325 is on a distinguished road

Hey Everyone,
Im a high school senior getting ready to go off to college. I just got a mac book (which I love) and I am now searching for an external hard drive. Being a student, I dont have a ton of money to spend, but I also dont need a huge amount of memory. Im just trying to find an external hard drive that is: Mac compatible, reliable, and doesnt take up a lot of space (seeing as I will have limited space in my dorm). Any help or ideas would be great. Thanks for your help!!

-J
QUOTE Thanks
saxnbass

saxnbass will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: iMac (Aluminum), MacBook (Core Duo), iPod (Classic), 16GB iPhone 3G

I have a few different ones I use. If you need small and portable I recommend a Western Digital Passport: http://www.westerndigital.com/en/pro...=9&language=en
or SeaGate FreeAgent Go:
http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/pro.../freeagent_go/

If not so much on the portable side, I suggest SeaGate FreeAgent Desktop:
http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/pro...p_data_movers/

I personally own and use both a WD Passport and SeaGate FreeAgent Desktop. Both work great, never had a problem with either one.

Eric
MacBook: 2GHz, 2GB RAM, Core Duo; iMac: 2.4GHz, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD. Both running Leopard; 160GB iPod Classic; and 16GB iPhone 3G, 1st 8GB Gen iPod Touch