New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.0 - Replacing OS9 in an dual/Mirror G4 (???)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

luis44

luis44 is on a distinguished road

(Sorry for the lie about the OS, but I didn't find OS9 in the Prefix (Is it fair?)

Hello everybody. I'm "brand new" here, and this is my first time in any forum, and by the way I am a little dumb. Sorry for that, and thanx for your patience.

Here's my question: I have a Home Recording Studio with Pro Tools and a lot of plug-ins installed in an old G4 running OS9, that has broken. I'm trying to switch to another Mac I have, a dual/mirror G4 with OS9 and OSX.

I tried to replace the hardrive of the dual G4, for the one of the old Mac, but it couldn't be recognized. I want to do this, because I've loose some of the installers of my plug-ins, then I cant' move all my stuff from the old hardrive to the other one.

The dual G4 recognizes the old hardrive if installed as a secondary one, but obviously (?) the programs can't run this way.

There's any solution for this?. Maybe install another version of OS9?. I've listened that the type of OS installed in a dual G4 is different than the one installed in a single G4 (The OS installed in my old G4 is 9.2.2, and in the dual is 9.2)

Thanks in advance for your HELP!!!
QUOTE Thanks
louishen