New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.4 - Just used MAC for the First time Ever.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Zedhead999

Zedhead999 is on a distinguished road

I have been using a PC for the last 15 years until today. I just purchsed a MAC BOOK. After getting over the depression of wasting 15 years of my life with inferior computer equipment, I have some questions. Im running Mac OSX 10.4.10. Not sure wht the name of that version is. But my question is this. With the PC you have to be very vigilant with the anti virus software. I heard a rumor that virus problems dont exist with MAC. Is that true? If not what is a good anti virus program for my OS version. And for you long time MAC users any idea on the " essentials every one should have for their MAC. Not just stuff for virus protection, but just all aroung good and fun stuff to have on a MAC. Thanks for the help. Look forward to seeing everyone on the forums for a long time to come.
QUOTE Thanks
Dawson

Dawson is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 2.0 GHz iMac Core 2 Duo with 2.5 gigs of RAM

Welcome to the Mac world. You are running OS X Tiger, by the way.

There is no need for an anti-virus, so don't worry.

If you don't like Safari as your Web browser, try Camino. It's pretty neat.

The best BitTorrent client on Mac is Transmission.

And if you need to edit MP3 files, Fission is your friend.

QUOTE Thanks
dtravis7