New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

iMac - User Profiles & Data...?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Northants Rob

Northants Rob is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 27" iMac 3.06GHz 4Gb RAM, 1Tb HDD; 16Gb iPhone (white); Aluminium MacBook, 2.4Ghz, 4Gb, 500 Gb HDD

Hi

Just ordered my first Mac - a 20" iMac - can't wait for delivery!

Quick question, this is my first Mac so I have no experience of the Apple way of handling different user profiles, data etc. Ideally, the wife and I would each have our own user profile under Leopard, each profile containing our own music (in iTunes) and photos (in iPhoto) etc - presumably either of us would sign-in to Leopard when booting the Mac?

Does this sound reasonable and the best way of having things separated?

Thanks for help.
QUOTE Thanks
NanoBite

NanoBite is an unknown at this point

When you set up your iMac for the first time you will essentially be creating a user account ... once done you can create another one in System Prefs and it's here that you configure whether you want the iMac to boot automatically straight into one account or the other OR to a login screen showing both accounts.

The account types are either Admin (which will be created during the setup) or Standard. On my iMac I'm the only user but I have an Admin acct and a Standard one that I use 99.9% of the time. I prefer to do things that way for basic security reasons.