New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.4 - tcsh - questions about alias, dotfiles

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

newdaddy

newdaddy is on a distinguished road

Hello,

I'm a newbie, trying to port my linux dotfiles to the factory-installed BST unix under mac OS X 10.4. I have set my default shell to tcsh and I'd really like to update my .cshrc so that it works with that. I have for example this line

alias lrrt 'ls -lrt'

When I launch a new tcsh, or source this .cshrc file manually from a tcsh prompt, and then try to issue the alias with no arguments, here's what I get;

<my_iMac_tcsh_prompt> % lrrt
:No such file or directory

I've also tried this;

alias lrrt 'ls -lrt \!*'

which has the same effect.

Note that if I execute the alias directly at the tcsh prompt, and then use it with no arguments, it works

<my_prompt> % alias lrrt 'ls -lrt'
<my_prompt> % lrrt
total 72
drwxr_xr_x 183 blah blah 6222 Sep 9 13:39 some_directory
drwxr_xr_x 5 blah blah 179 Sep 13 14:44 some_other_directory
[etc.]

Also, I am attempting to set the path;

set path=($path . /Users/me/bin /usr/bin /sw/bin /sw/igpp/bin)

When this is executed as part of a .cshrc, I get

tcsh: set: Variable name must begin with a letter.

This is encouraging as it shows at least that tcsh is the shell executing the commands, but I think the syntax of the set command is correct.

If I do a

< my_prompt > % which tcsh
/bin/tcsh

is what I see.