New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.4 - Start Up Issue; Gray Screen with ? on folder

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

EarlsMac

EarlsMac is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Mac Pro/MacBook Pro

I am new to a Mac Pro also and I purchased a used Mac Pro (fully loaded) from a 3rd party. It works great, but when I power it up in the Gray screen mode, it seems to take a while and occasionally I receive a ? mark with a folder symbol blinking. I turn the computer off and it usually boots up fine. Occasionally I have to do this process twice.

Is this something I need to worry about? What should I do to fix. I have build Windows machines and am fairly knowledgeably, but new to the Mac environment.

Thanks,

Earl
QUOTE Thanks
dtravis7

dtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond reputedtravis7 has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: iMac 2.4 C2D 10.10, iMac 2.16 C2d 10.6.8, Macbook2007 10.8.4, Mac Mini 10.8.4, iPhone 3GS Note 8!!