New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.4 - End/Home keys - how to make them act like Windows?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

maclambo

maclambo is on a distinguished road

So i'm a newbie to MACs. I had an iMac given to me as a gift. Thus far it's been everything I expected it to be - all except for the End key. I'm expecting Home/End to go to the begnning/end of the current line when editing something. While I realize that the behavior of going to the beginning/end of a document is the way it's supposed to work (and that there are other workarounds), that simply won't fly in my case.. something about "can't teach an old dog new tricks.."

In all seriousness, this Mac will either be useless or painful unless I can somehow "re-bind" these keys and make them perform as they would on a PC. Any ideas? Are there commercial programs to do this? Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
NanoBite

NanoBite is an unknown at this point

To go to the beginning / end of current line press: Command OR Control + forward/backward arrow

To go to the beginning / end of current word press: Option + forward/backward arrow
QUOTE Thanks
torchy

torchy is a jewel in the roughtorchy is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: 13" MBA. 15" MBP. iPhone 4. 3G Pad 2.

System Prefs > Keyboard & Mouse > Keyboard shortcuts > You can add your own shortcuts so may be worth a try.

~ 13" MacBook Air. OSX 10.9 ~ iPad 2 & iPhone ~
QUOTE Thanks
baggss