New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.4 - Cannot delete files from CD

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Frankie909

Frankie909 is on a distinguished road

Hi,

I am relatively new to the Mac OS. I am using a 2.5GHz Mac G5 PPC for use with Logic Pro. Recently, I burned an MP3 and a .wav file to a blank CD-RW audio CD. When I try to move these files to the Trash I get a message saying that I do not have "permission" to delete them. Can anyone help me with this issue? Thank you!
QUOTE Thanks
MacHeadCase

Hi Frankie909. Welcome to Mac-Forums.

Could you specify the OS version you are using, please?

With the little info you posted, the only ideas that pop into my head right now about your problem is if you on a Mac at work i.e. that's on a network in the workplace. Or you could be using 10.3.x which was finicky with the file permissions.

If you don't know how to find out about your OS version, click on the blue Apple logo in the menubar and select About this Mac in the drop-down menu. The window that opens will tell you how much RAM is installed, which OS version you have, etc.
QUOTE Thanks
jonnyd

jonnyd has a spectacular aura about
Mac Specs: Mac pro quad 2.66 / G5 1.8

Is the disk finalised? If so you'd have to reformat it to move any files around. If it's finalised, it thinks it's read only.
QUOTE Thanks
Frankie909

Hi MacHeadCase,