msbeth72
    Finder keeps restarting..stuck in loop
    Help...I upgraded my G3 Pismo from 9.2.1 to OS X and 9.2.2 but now when I reboot the gray screen comes up with the happy mac and then it just clicks off...I kinda solved that issue by holding down X while restarting..but when OS X loads the finder bounces up and down like it's about to open and my desktop icons appear then it repeats itself INDEFINITELY until I shut it down...I was able to to open a few things in the dock....I am somewhat new to Macs...is there a preference panel or perhaps a duplicate or corrupt finder file somewhere Any help would be GREATLY appreciated....Thanks so much

Beth

msbeth72
    Any help would be VERY appreciated!!!
    PLease anyone out there? Thanks :confused:

Specs:
    G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
    Start repair permissions. After every software update, and about every 2 weeks: close all apps and log totally off. Log on, go in Finder, Applications. Utilities, Disk Utility. After the message -getting disk information- select volume (below the hard drive name -upper left corner). Just highlight it. Now look to the lower two things are there near the middle, verify permissions, repair permissions. Click repair permissions

msbeth72
    thanks for trying
    Quote Originally Posted by witeshark
    Start repair permissions. After every software update, and about every 2 weeks: close all apps and log totally off. Log on, go in Finder, Applications. Utilities, Disk Utility. After the message -getting disk information- select volume (below the hard drive name -upper left corner). Just highlight it. Now look to the lower two things are there near the middle, verify permissions, repair permissions. Click repair permissions
    The repair button isn't highlighted, (I partitioned my hard drive into 3 (OSx, OS9.2.2, and MISC.) When I highlight those and try to repair I get an error message saying..Unmount Failed- The Disk failed to unmount because it is in use.

Specs:
    G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7