Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: F1 - F12 Keys

  1. #1
    F1 - F12 Keys

    Member Since
    May 03, 2007
    Posts
    4
    F1 - F12 Keys
    Does anyone know how to make the "F" keys funtion lke a Pc "F" key would. There is a website I use for work that uses only these keys to navigate through it. Its kinda of important if any one could help it would be greatly appeciated.

  2. #2
    F1 - F12 Keys
    KoDorSean's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 03, 2006
    Location
    Denver Colorado
    Posts
    2,371
    Specs:
    2.4 GHz intel core 2 duo MBP, iPhone 5, iPad 3
    try the TN key ( should be at the far left on the bottom row) + whatever F key. thats how I get them to work with halo..

    I was on the M-F honor roll for month : May 2007

  3. #3
    F1 - F12 Keys

    Member Since
    May 03, 2007
    Posts
    4
    No I've tried that and still nothing. I've turned the shortcuts off to the F keys But the website still does nothing, like no command has been given.

  4. #4
    F1 - F12 Keys
    Noxian's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 17, 2006
    Posts
    542
    Specs:
    MacBook Pro 2.2ghz, 3GB, 250GB - 16GB White iPhone 3G - 2nd Gen 1GB Shuffle
    There is a setting in your keyboard settings in the System Preferences

  5. #5
    F1 - F12 Keys
    Kash's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 03, 2006
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    9,385
    Specs:
    Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
    Go to System Preferences --> Keyboard & Mouse. Click on the Keyboard tab and check the box that says "Use the F1-F12 keys to control software features"

    That should get the function keys to work "normally"

  6. #6
    F1 - F12 Keys

    Member Since
    May 03, 2007
    Posts
    4
    No Ive tried that (for instance I need the F3 key to return to a main menu on the website when i check the box the F3 key now prompts a text search box intead of volume) and i've also gone under the unversal access menu as well and tried the checked the box enable access for assisitve devices because i heard that this may work, but still nothing. I need the Function keys to act like PC function keys, this will solve my problem. Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    F1 - F12 Keys
    ToddG's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 27, 2006
    Posts
    2,071
    If the recommendation made by Kash doesn't work, I'm not sure there is anything you can do. What kind of website requires a function key input? If it's running under ActiveX, it's not going to work with any OS X browser.

  8. #8
    F1 - F12 Keys

    Member Since
    May 03, 2007
    Posts
    4
    Not Active X its juniper and. Its a pretty stupid way to run a website i agree, have you heard of a program Ucontrol It seems like it may be able ot do what I need

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Volume Control Via F10 F11 F12 Keys
    By PatM in forum Switcher Hangout
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 07:09 PM
  2. F12 key function is different
    By edpa777 in forum Switcher Hangout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-11-2011, 05:29 PM
  3. Function Keys (F1-F12)
    By kd172906 in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-24-2009, 10:31 AM
  4. See widget without pressing F12
    By kevin86 in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-12-2005, 02:55 PM
  5. Enabling F-Keys (F1-F12) on an iBook
    By Xyphus in forum Switcher Hangout
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-06-2004, 02:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •