Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: F1 - F12 Keys

  1. #1

    Member Since
    May 03, 2007
    F1 - F12 Keys
    Does anyone know how to make the "F" keys funtion lke a Pc "F" key would. There is a website I use for work that uses only these keys to navigate through it. Its kinda of important if any one could help it would be greatly appeciated.

  2. #2

    KoDorSean's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 03, 2006
    Denver Colorado
    2.4 GHz intel core 2 duo MBP, iPhone 5, iPad 3
    try the TN key ( should be at the far left on the bottom row) + whatever F key. thats how I get them to work with halo..

    I was on the M-F honor roll for month : May 2007

  3. #3

    Member Since
    May 03, 2007
    No I've tried that and still nothing. I've turned the shortcuts off to the F keys But the website still does nothing, like no command has been given.

  4. #4

    Noxian's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 17, 2006
    MacBook Pro 2.2ghz, 3GB, 250GB - 16GB White iPhone 3G - 2nd Gen 1GB Shuffle
    There is a setting in your keyboard settings in the System Preferences

  5. #5

    Kash's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 03, 2006
    Irvine, CA
    Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
    Go to System Preferences --> Keyboard & Mouse. Click on the Keyboard tab and check the box that says "Use the F1-F12 keys to control software features"

    That should get the function keys to work "normally"

  6. #6

    Member Since
    May 03, 2007
    No Ive tried that (for instance I need the F3 key to return to a main menu on the website when i check the box the F3 key now prompts a text search box intead of volume) and i've also gone under the unversal access menu as well and tried the checked the box enable access for assisitve devices because i heard that this may work, but still nothing. I need the Function keys to act like PC function keys, this will solve my problem. Any help is appreciated.


  7. #7

    ToddG's Avatar
    Member Since
    Nov 28, 2006
    If the recommendation made by Kash doesn't work, I'm not sure there is anything you can do. What kind of website requires a function key input? If it's running under ActiveX, it's not going to work with any OS X browser.

  8. #8

    Member Since
    May 03, 2007
    Not Active X its juniper and. Its a pretty stupid way to run a website i agree, have you heard of a program Ucontrol It seems like it may be able ot do what I need

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Volume Control Via F10 F11 F12 Keys
    By PatM in forum Switcher Hangout
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 08:09 PM
  2. F12 key function is different
    By edpa777 in forum Switcher Hangout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-11-2011, 06:29 PM
  3. Function Keys (F1-F12)
    By kd172906 in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-24-2009, 11:31 AM
  4. See widget without pressing F12
    By kevin86 in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-12-2005, 03:55 PM
  5. Enabling F-Keys (F1-F12) on an iBook
    By Xyphus in forum Switcher Hangout
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-06-2004, 03:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts