New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

New G5 need basic setup for root. Newbie

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

javanutz

Hi,
I've just got a new G5 and Im a newbie to MACs. I just turned on the system and set up the admin account. How do I get root access to the system? Because when I go into the terminal and try "su" and used the admin password, the system won't let me log in. Please help.

Thanks.
QUOTE Thanks
witeshark

witeshark will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7

Admin access in the terminal is by sudo. Setting up root user never be on line as root:
Open NetInfo Manager, located in Applications > Utilities.
Choose Security > Enable Root User and type a password for the root account. You may need to type an administrator password to make these changes.
Choose Apple menu > Log Out.
Choose Other in the Login window, type root in the Name field, and the root password in the Password field.
QUOTE Thanks
javanutz

Choose Security?

Sorry there is no security option in netinfo manager. The current OS im on is OSX Panther. I don't know if this makes a difference or not.
QUOTE Thanks
witeshark

Quote:
Originally Posted by javanutz
Choose Security?

Sorry there is no security option in netinfo manager. The current OS im on is OSX Panther. I don't know if this makes a difference or not.