New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.5 - Mac wont boot!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Lashes

Lashes is on a distinguished road

Hellooo im new to this so dont laugh! lol

I updated my mac last night...it took around 3 hours to update the OS...kinda locked up...mac wouldn't do anything!
Me being the impatient person i am...i turned it off!

Now i tried to turn it this morning and it just gets stuck at the apple loading screen! help!

have i broken it ? lol...ive tried some of shortcuts & stuff but screen doesnt change ... its been like it for around an hour!

Help! ...Leys xx
QUOTE Thanks
Lisa

Lisa will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: 15.4" MBP Core2 Duo, 2.33MHZ, 160GB HD, 2GB RAM, ATI X1600 256 MB

If you're talking about the latest update, it does take a few extra minutes to reboot the first time after installing the update. Try it again and let it sit.
QUOTE Thanks
Lashes

Ive left it for about an hour...il try it again tho & see what happens!
thanks
QUOTE Thanks
Sherman Homan

Sherman Homan is a jewel in the roughSherman Homan is a jewel in the roughSherman Homan is a jewel in the rough

I think you hosed the update, now the Mac has no idea what to do. You many need to dig out your original install disk and do the Archive and Install deal. It is straight forward, just make sure you read each item carefully before clicking continue, it is possible to completely erase your drive, go slow!