Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mac wont boot!

Mac wont boot!
    Hellooo im new to this so dont laugh! lol

I updated my mac last night...it took around 3 hours to update the OS...kinda locked up...mac wouldn't do anything!
    Me being the impatient person i am...i turned it off!

Now i tried to turn it this morning and it just gets stuck at the apple loading screen! help!

have i broken it ? lol...ive tried some of shortcuts & stuff but screen doesnt change ... its been like it for around an hour!

Help! ...Leys xx

Specs:
    15.4" MBP Core2 Duo, 2.33MHZ, 160GB HD, 2GB RAM, ATI X1600 256 MB
    If you're talking about the latest update, it does take a few extra minutes to reboot the first time after installing the update. Try it again and let it sit.

Ive left it for about an hour...il try it again tho & see what happens!
    thanks

I think you hosed the update, now the Mac has no idea what to do. You many need to dig out your original install disk and do the Archive and Install deal. It is straight forward, just make sure you read each item carefully before clicking continue, it is possible to completely erase your drive, go slow!

Before you do that, try to start in Safe mode, hold down the Shift key at the startup chime. It will take a while to boot, it runs a disk repair utility and empties a bunch of system and font caches. But no where near an hour! If that doesn't work, you will probably need to reinstall.

When you get the System reinstalled, you will need to redo all of the updates again. The biggest problem that people seem to have with the update is running other applications while the update is in progress. Don't!

Specs:
    MacBook Pro 13 Inch, 2 Mac Mini's 1.66 & 1.83, 2- iMac Intel i3 iPhone 4 & iPad 2 32 gig.