New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.4 - recovering 'lost' disk space

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

cdginther

cdginther is on a distinguished road

I'm new to mac osx, and have run into a space problem on my hard drive and am hoping someone can help. I somehow managed to create a 40gb .sparse file (I think it had something to do with filevault) on a 80gb hard drive. I moved the file to the trash and then emptied it, rebooted, but now now the space is being reported as used even though it doesn't show up in any of the disk inventory tools I've tried.

I tried doing all of the things in this post http://www.macfixitforums.com/showfl...&Number=770243, but still no luck. Does anybody have any idea how I can recover this space without reinstalling the OS. It's using over half my hard drive, and I can't find it!
QUOTE Thanks
yogi

yogi is a name known to allyogi is a name known to allyogi is a name known to allyogi is a name known to allyogi is a name known to allyogi is a name known to allyogi is a name known to all
Mac Specs: iMac Core i5, iPad, iPhone 4

Get DiskInventoryX and identify the large chunks on your hard drive. See if you sparse file still shows up.

If you liked this post, consider using the Reputation System.
QUOTE Thanks
mac57