New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.4 - new to the world of Mac

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

callen727

callen727 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Mac Pro Processor 2x2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon 1GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM Mac-OS X

Hello everyone,
I am very new to the world of Mac and I have a few questions for you all.
1. Am I understanding this right, in order to do much of anything with Microsoft Office files I am going to have to a.buy Microsoft Office 2004 for Mac or b.buy a full version of Microsoft XP Home or Pro to use with Boot Camp? Are there any Mac programs that come standard with the Mac Pro that are as good (or better) than MS Office? If I create a resume on a standard MAC program and email it to someone, will they be able to open it on a PC?
2. Do any of you have a account with .Mac? If so is it worth it? It seems interesting to me, but I don't really want to waste a lot of money on a membership I am not going to use a month from now?
3. Last but not least. Since I started looking into getting a Mac I have read a ton about them being sooo safe. So with that being the case, do I need to be installing McAfee on my system? Is it even possible to install Mcafee on a Mac? Do I need virus protectors, firewalls, etc. or are those tings built in to the Mac OS system?
OK, you all have a good one and thanks in advance for all of your help!
-C.
QUOTE Thanks
Brendan