New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.4 - mac 1.4 ghz vs. windows 3 ghz

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Nagger Pumper

Nagger Pumper will become famous soon enough
Mac Specs: MacBook 2.2Ghz, 4GB RAM, 160GB HD

i'm still a noob at macs, but why ezactly are macs so fast for their ghz? for example my 1.4 ghz mac opens up programs such as aol, itunes ect. much faster than my 3 ghz windows. How is that?
QUOTE Thanks
MacHeadCase

Maybe because Mac OS X is less of a hindrance? That's why, I think, Apple wants to keep total control on the hardware and software: everything goes together smoothly.
QUOTE Thanks
Nagger Pumper

surely there is more to it than that
QUOTE Thanks
D3v1L80Y

D3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond reputeD3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond reputeD3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond reputeD3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond reputeD3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond reputeD3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond reputeD3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond reputeD3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond reputeD3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond reputeD3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond reputeD3v1L80Y has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: MacBook

Very simply put, the Mac OS has a much more efficient use of processor and RAM. It just doesn't have the many software bottlenecks that Windows does.