Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Tiger, no classic mode. (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/41122-tiger-no-classic-mode.html)

Bmode 09-08-2006 05:38 PM

Tiger, no classic mode.
 
I recently did a clean install of Tiger, omitting the classic mode in hopes of streamlining my workflow. It worked, but now I'm having a problem with certain a classic game I love to play, Starcraft. I've downloaded the patch from Blizzard which allows you to play it without classic mode, but it keeps disconnecting me in the middle of games, and disconnects are frowned upon.

My question is, can I go back and install the classic mode without a clean install?

rman 09-08-2006 06:15 PM

Yes, you should be able to if your system is able to Mac OS classic.

Bmode 09-09-2006 12:15 AM

Rman, thanks for the quick reply, but I don't understand your solution. I have a G4 Quicksilver, which is OS9 compatible, in fact it came with OS 9, but I surfed the Apple website and found out once you have Tiger installed WITHOUT the classic mode, you can't go back and re-install classic mode without doing a clean install.

D3v1L80Y 09-09-2006 12:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bmode
Rman, thanks for the quick reply, but I don't understand your solution. I have a G4 Quicksilver, which is OS9 compatible, in fact it came with OS 9, but I surfed the Apple website and found out once you have Tiger installed WITHOUT the classic mode, you can't go back and re-install classic mode without doing a clean install.

I will try to clarify here. Contrary to what some might think, "Classic" is NOT the same as OS 9. Yes, you can enter the "Classic" environment if you have a computer capable of running OS 9 natively and have it installed on a volume or partition. Yet if you had a computer that isn't capable of running OS 9 natively, you can still run "Classic".

In other words:

If you wanted to install OS 9 from an OS 9 disc for your "Classic" environment, then no... you can't install it after Tiger without doing a clean, fresh install.

On the other hand, if you had something like a PowerBook G4 that came with Tiger installed... then the restore/install discs would have "Classic" included on the disc that you can install after Tiger is already installed.

Hope that makes a little more sense.
:black:


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.