Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Anti-virus for Windows? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/311995-anti-virus-windows.html)

jdstevo 06-02-2014 06:52 PM

Anti-virus for Windows?
 
I am running windows 7 on my Mac via third party software. Do I need to install anti virus software to protect against the latest attacks on the windows systems

harryb2448 06-02-2014 07:07 PM

Yes indeed and very, very promptly.

Suggest Microsfot Security Essentials which is avaiable free from Microsoft. Then keep definitions up to date at least vtwice weekly.

cradom 06-02-2014 08:02 PM

Security Essentials is not that great. Even Microsoft is downplaying it's use. He might be better off using Avast or one of the other ones out there.

chscag 06-02-2014 10:26 PM

Lately, the German made AVG has gotten the best write ups for effectiveness. MSE is no longer recommended. There is also the free AVAST. Avoid Norton, Kaspersky, and McAfee.

harryb2448 06-03-2014 01:51 AM

Agreed Microsoft were bagging their own product three or four months ago however they are strongly promoting it again. I know the latest update I did was over 95MB, much much larger than anything previous.


Download Microsoft Security Essentials from Official Microsoft Download Center

mrplow 06-03-2014 07:28 AM

I'd suggest Avast and Malwarebytes-antimalware.

Both have free variants but I'd get the paid for upgrade on Malwarebytes, it's realtime protection is excellent.

MBP17•David 06-03-2014 07:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdstevo (Post 1586001)
I am running windows 7 on my Mac via third party software.

Do you mean a virtual machine, like VirtualBox or VMWare, or more integrated, like Parallels?

The first question I would ask "do I need this Windows machine to have online access at all?"

For example, I run an XP vm to have access to CorelDRAW files, but there's absolutely no need for this machine to be online, so it isn't, and never was, hence no worries about Windows vulnerability.

MacInWin 06-03-2014 05:43 PM

I run XP under Parallels, for one single application that has no OSX version. I have zero AV protection, but I only go to the one single website for that one single application. And I back up the virtual machine every time I run it, so if it does get infected, I just will whack it and restore back to an uninfected version. That way I don't have to pay the price in performance of the AV but I do have a plan if it gets infected somehow.

jdstevo 06-04-2014 02:44 AM

Cyber attack replies
 
Thanks for all your replies and useful information I am running windows 7 on VM software and unfortunately one of the two programs requires access to the internet and is not available on the Mac. Following the above suggestions I have installed Avast anti virus and paid for the upgrade. I will also that I back up after every session. Hopefully that will cover all the bases.

Thanks again to you all

jdstevo

techiesteve 06-04-2014 03:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdstevo (Post 1586001)
I am running windows 7 on my Mac via third party software. Do I need to install anti virus software to protect against the latest attacks on the windows systems

If you are running Windows and connect to the internet, yes, you certainly need AV protection, and not just for the latest virus's.

I only run Windows 7 for specific ham radio software, and need to use a browser while operating. I used to use AVG Free, but now use Zone Alarm.

osxx 06-04-2014 01:35 PM

I have had good luck with MSE and Malwarebytes on clients machines also I change the UAC from default setting to top setting.
I instruct them to hit ALT + F4 when they are presented with a page asking something suspicious.
I usually create a user account for them to do the majority of their surfing with no admin privileges .

jdstevo 06-05-2014 02:17 AM

Hi again
I only browse the internet via the Mac. The only connection to the internet from windows is for a program which updates it's data automatically every time it is switched on . Does this make a difference?

jdstevo

harryb2448 06-05-2014 07:08 PM

No. You go online so the danger is there ~ go with AV software of your choice.

MacInWin 06-06-2014 05:31 AM

I would say that if the ONLY place you go with Windows is to that one program and it does just that one update, then you can probably get away with no AV. Just backup before each time you go online from Windows. As I said, I have one program that needs Internet to operate under Windows, so I back it up before I go online so that IF it does have some attack, I can delete that version and roll back to the previous, un-infected image. But be careful if you do that to make sure that you really stick to that discipline.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.