Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1


    Member Since
    Nov 07, 2013
    Posts
    67
    Its damned well MY mac after all
    I have recently got a second hand MacBook Pro 17" and despite having erased the HD and re-installed practically everything, I still get at the very top of the hierarchy, above my name for the HD, "users iMac" and following 2 admin users, a Home folder called "useruser"

    Is there any way of getting rid of these for good?

    (8,3 running 10.8.5)

  2. #2

    dtravis7's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 04, 2005
    Location
    Modesto, Ca.
    Posts
    29,052
    Specs:
    iMac 2010 27" QuadI7 OS10.12, iMac 2008 OSX10.11, MBP Late2011OS10.12 , iPad Air, iPhone 3GS
    How did you reinstall the OS? From a Time Machine back up or the Mountain Lion installer? Are you sure you erased the hard drive?

  3. #3


    Member Since
    Nov 07, 2013
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by dtravis7 View Post
    How did you reinstall the OS? From a Time Machine back up or the Mountain Lion installer? Are you sure you erased the hard drive?
    It came with 10.7.5 and I downloaded/installed a fresh 10.8.5 from the App.store
    I am pretty sure I erased the HD, but memory may be confused, as I was concurrently dealing with my slightly older model with a view to migration. Please don't suggest I erase again, I don't think I have that much confidence in TimeMachine back up and have had a couple of weeks struggle to get somewhere near where I want

    Hopefully this is the last tweak. No-one else uses the machine, but there should be a guest account according to SystemPrefs>Users and Groups

    Thanks in advance for your help - my confidence in MacForums is boundless
    Chris ..... MBP 17" i7 8,3 OS 10.11.2 (& older 15"MBP & Powerbook) www.pbase.com/crisscross

  4. #4

    pigoo3's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 20, 2008
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    36,504
    Specs:
    2011 13" MBP 2.3ghz, 8gig ram, OS 10.8.5
    Quote Originally Posted by crisscross View Post
    I am pretty sure I erased the HD, but memory may be confused, as I was concurrently dealing with my slightly older model with a view to migration.

    Please don't suggest I erase again, I don't think I have that much confidence in TimeMachine back up and have had a couple of weeks struggle to get somewhere near where I want
    Are we talking about a two step process here?

    1st Step: You Erased, reformatted, and did a fresh install of the Mac OS.
    2nd Step: Did a Time Machine restore.

    - Nick
    - Too many "beachballs", read this: Beachballs
    - Computer seems slower than it used to? Read this for some slow computer tips: Speedup
    - Almost full hard drive? Some solutions. Out of Space
    - Apple Battery Info. Battery

  5. #5

    osxx's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location
    houston texas
    Posts
    4,695
    Specs:
    09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
    Upgrade just migrated existing to the new OS.

  6. #6

    chscag's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location
    Keller, Texas
    Posts
    50,215
    Specs:
    Late 2013 27" iMac, iPad 3, iPhone 6s+, iPhone 6+, 3 iPods, Sierra
    It came with 10.7.5 and I downloaded/installed a fresh 10.8.5 from the App.store
    As member "osxx" pointed out, all you did was migrate from Lion to Mountain Lion which is why it retained all the old user's information. You should have done a clean install of Mountain Lion and then restored with your Time Machine backup.

    Now you must decide whether or not you want to clean install or live with the old user's information showing up. If you need help with a clean install, let us know.

  7. #7


    Member Since
    Feb 24, 2014
    Posts
    1
    If you are admin, delete the users in Users & Groups, or am I missing something?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •