Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Currently getting reacquainted with a MacBook Pro

    Member Since
    Jun 26, 2013
    Posts
    1
    Currently getting reacquainted with a MacBook Pro
    and hope I didn't do anything too drastitic...But the person before me had a folder as his name on the Sidebar in Finder.

    Yesterday, while in a conference and my machine hooked up to the flat screen and everybody could see my computer and what I was doing. My boss noticed the previous person's name in Finder and mentioned I should change it.

    I have tried before unsuccessfully -- Today I clicked on and there was an option that said "remove from sidebar" -- So I chose that

    MAJOR DOWNSIDE is that is where are all the pre-existing work was. And I have searched for certain files in that and they are nowhere to be found.

    I can not believe that they are permanently gone and I must be overlooking something here.

    Is there a way I can undo that or retrieve that folder? Where did it go? It is not in the Trash

    Please, any ideas would be greatly appreciate.

  2. #2
    Currently getting reacquainted with a MacBook Pro
    dtravis7's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 04, 2005
    Location
    Modesto, Ca.
    Posts
    28,477
    Specs:
    iMac late 2007 10.11.b4, iMac 2008 10.10.5, Macbook2007 10.7.5, Mac Mini 10.7.5, iPhone 3GS Note 8!!
    That should not have deleted anything but just removed it from showing in the Sidebar. Click on Finder up top in the toolbar, and on Preferences, then on the Sidebar tab. See if you see that there and simply put a checkmark by it. If its' not there let us know.

    If you are truly talking about the sidebar in the finder window, I just tried exactly what you did then tried what I suggested and all is back. Removing from the Sidebar does NOT delete that from the computer.

  3. #3
    Currently getting reacquainted with a MacBook Pro
    dtravis7's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 04, 2005
    Location
    Modesto, Ca.
    Posts
    28,477
    Specs:
    iMac late 2007 10.11.b4, iMac 2008 10.10.5, Macbook2007 10.7.5, Mac Mini 10.7.5, iPhone 3GS Note 8!!
    If the person you got the machine from name is showing you need to make a new account and move everything over to the new account.

    You can do that in users. You can also change the user name in Users. You have to unlock the lock on the bottom. Do you know the machines password at all?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2015, 02:56 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-26-2014, 01:16 AM
  3. late 2012 macbook pro vs mid 2014 macbook pro 13"
    By mustafa.salam in forum Apple Notebooks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-08-2014, 10:27 AM
  4. Macbook Pro (Late 2009) Vs Macbook Pro (Current)
    By ijmart in forum Apple Notebooks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-02-2010, 04:35 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-19-2010, 12:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •