New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Increasing Macbook Pro speed?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

gatrapper

gatrapper is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Macbook Pro 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo--2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

Hey Y'all,

Im a complete newb when it comes to in depth computer talk, so hopefully my questions aren't too silly.

I have a 2007 Mac Book Pro. I guess its finally getting to the point where its getting "old." Over the course of time it has began to run slower and slower.

I have 50 gigs of free space on the computer, yet when I try to open some simple applications it takes forever. I'll click to open google chrome and it will take maybe 15-20 seconds, where on my other buddies laptops its essentially instant.

The other day I had a YouTube video running and went to open up Microsoft Word. The video stopped playing and it probably took 1-2 minutes for word to even load and pop up.

What are y'alls thoughts on improving the speed of this laptop? I have done disk stuff on disk utility, but still having issues.
QUOTE Thanks
louishen

louishen has a brilliant futurelouishen has a brilliant futurelouishen has a brilliant futurelouishen has a brilliant futurelouishen has a brilliant futurelouishen has a brilliant futurelouishen has a brilliant futurelouishen has a brilliant futurelouishen has a brilliant futurelouishen has a brilliant futurelouishen has a brilliant future