New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.3 - 10.2.8 to 10.3

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

switchedtomac1

I'm new to macs. I replaced my harddrive in a G3 Lombard 333, upgraded memory to 384MB and managed to get OS 10.2 installed and updated to 10.2.8( I had trouble with this and had to use XPOSTOFACTO to install it). I try to install the 10.3 OS and and I get the screen that says you have to restart, I click on restart and then nothing-just a spinning icon? I tried the XPOSTOFACTO to install it and that program goes a while and then begins to repeat itself over and over and gets stuck.
I also tried to install OS 9.2 and that would not install?
I bought this computer on ebay and the OS disks came with it-I have the original 4GB hard drive that came with the computer that had OS9, OS 10.3 on it and I ordered a hard drive enclosure with a USB connector. What is the best method to copy my old hard drive onto my new one so I get my old OS 9 and 10.3 back?
QUOTE Thanks
MacsWork

MacsWork is just really niceMacsWork is just really niceMacsWork is just really niceMacsWork is just really niceMacsWork is just really nice
Mac Specs: Performa 6116 2GBSCSI 8MB OS 7.5.3

Use Disk Utility.

Boot to the 10.3 CD and select Disk Utility from the Installer menu.

Make sure before you boot that the Ext USB drive is plugged in and contails either a disk image or clean install.