New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Moving files & folders instead of copying

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

NielsJoormann

NielsJoormann is on a distinguished road

Hey, I've been working with my MacBook for over two years now and I'm still very satisfied. Now I want to reorganize my files & folders to get more storage room. But here's the problem: as I move a folder to my external hard drive, my Finder starts copying it instead of moving it. Therefor I have to remove the folder on my MacBook afterwards, which takes a lot time (the folder is several GB) and this is quite annoying.
My question is: is there any way I can get my Finder to move the folder (to my external hard drive) and delete it from it's original location (somewhere on my MacBook) at once?
QUOTE Thanks
IWT

Location: Born in Scotland, Worked in Scotland then England, Now live in Wales
IWT is a jewel in the roughIWT is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: 2010 27" iMac 16GB RAM, SSD & 1TB IHD (Lion) + 2013 27" iMac Fusion SSD & 3TB IHD, 32GB (Mavericks)

Hold down Cmd as you Drag the item. This moves it.

Option + Drag, copies

Cmd+Option+Drag creates an alias.

Ian
QUOTE Thanks
NielsJoormann

NielsJoormann is on a distinguished road

Sweet, that solves it! Thanks a lot.
QUOTE Thanks
Patrick Cox

Patrick Cox is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by IWT View Post
Hold down Cmd as you Drag the item. This moves it.

Option + Drag, copies