New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Closing files in application.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

mattmould86

mattmould86 is on a distinguished road

I'm completely new to Mac so apologies if I sound like a confused old luddite.
If I open a file in Textwrangler, then close the program using cmd-Q, then open it again I find that the file opens again too. Each time I open a file it opens every time I open the program. Is there any way of a) closing a file properly and ideally b) stopped it from automatically adding to this list of files to open every time I open the program?

So far my biggest issue has been how difficult it is to actually close a program or file down. Every time I log on every app I've ever used seems to pop up despite not being in the list of programs to run at start up.
QUOTE Thanks
vansmith

vansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattmould86 View Post
I'm completely new to Mac so apologies if I sound like a confused old luddite.