Closing files in application.

I'm completely new to Mac so apologies if I sound like a confused old luddite.
    If I open a file in Textwrangler, then close the program using cmd-Q, then open it again I find that the file opens again too. Each time I open a file it opens every time I open the program. Is there any way of a) closing a file properly and ideally b) stopped it from automatically adding to this list of files to open every time I open the program?

So far my biggest issue has been how difficult it is to actually close a program or file down. Every time I log on every app I've ever used seems to pop up despite not being in the list of programs to run at start up.

Specs:
    2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)
    Quote Originally Posted by mattmould86 View Post
    I'm completely new to Mac so apologies if I sound like a confused old luddite.
    If I open a file in Textwrangler, then close the program using cmd-Q, then open it again I find that the file opens again too. Each time I open a file it opens every time I open the program. Is there any way of a) closing a file properly and ideally b) stopped it from automatically adding to this list of files to open every time I open the program?
    To fix this, go to System Preferences > General > uncheck "Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps".

Quote Originally Posted by mattmould86 View Post
    So far my biggest issue has been how difficult it is to actually close a program or file down. Every time I log on every app I've ever used seems to pop up despite not being in the list of programs to run at start up.
    To fix this, uncheck the "Reopen windows when logging back in" checkbox when you shut down.
    Important Links: Community Guidelines : Use the reputation system if you've been helped.
    M-F Blog :: Write for the blog
    Writing a Quality Post

Specs:
    27" i7 iMac, 24" iMac, 13" Macbook Air, iPhone 5 & 5S, iPod Nano 7th Gen, iPad 2 16GB WiFi, iPad 3
    Welcome to Mac-Forums