Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Large Hard Drive Tower Only Showing 1 Bay (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/270045-large-hard-drive-tower-only-showing-1-bay.html)

Tugga 03-19-2012 02:03 PM

Large Hard Drive Tower Only Showing 1 Bay
 
First off i'm new to the forums so hello!

I have one of these hard drive towers: Newegg.com - Cavalry 4-Bay RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Enclosure w/ eSATA Card Bundle (EN-CADA4B-CFI)

I have 4tb of usable space occupying all 4 bays. When I plug the HD into the mac disc utility only shows that 1tb can be partitioned.

Why is this? Is there a way for disc utility to show all 4 bays of the external HD?

Thank you!

louishen 03-19-2012 03:19 PM

They say there is no OS X support for that

You might have to use their RIAD formatting software on windows to to the RAID setup, then try and reformat it to mac os x or leave it formatted as windows NTFS

Tugga 03-19-2012 04:36 PM

ok..
 
Sounds like fun!

I have no idea how to do that or even what RAID is... I do see a RAID option in disk utility is that what your referring to?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.