Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Snow Leopard DL Disc wont boot !!! (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/268869-snow-leopard-dl-disc-wont-boot.html)

meliv8515 03-07-2012 02:07 PM

Snow Leopard DL Disc wont boot !!!
 
Hi I have a PowerPC G5 running 10.4.11 it was previously already in snow leopard but i had
to restore it back to factory about a month ago the farthest i was able to update it was to its current software... I have a DL disc for snow leopard it reads it but when i hit restart to start installation nothing happens and just loads back up to Desktop! Please someone HELP!!:\

pigoo3 03-07-2012 02:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by meliv8515 (Post 1379540)
Hi I have a PowerPC G5 running 10.4.11 it was previously already in snow leopard...

Sorry...but no PowerPC G5 (actually a Powermac G5 or an iMac G5)...can run Snow Leopard. So either the computer model is incorrect...or the OS name is incorrect.

FYI: 10.5 = Leopard...10.6 = Snow Leopard.:)

- Nick

RavingMac 03-07-2012 02:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by meliv8515 (Post 1379540)
Hi I have a PowerPC G5 running 10.4.11 it was previously already in snow leopard but i had
to restore it back to factory about a month ago the farthest i was able to update it was to its current software... I have a DL disc for snow leopard it reads it but when i hit restart to start installation nothing happens and just loads back up to Desktop! Please someone HELP!!:\

First read the post at the link below
http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-...-overview.html

Second, there is no way you were previously running Snow Leopard OS X 10.6 on your PowerPC G5. You probably had Leopard OS X 10.5. Make sure you are using a Retail Disk for installation.

meliv8515 03-07-2012 02:18 PM

the comp used to be my neighbors before and he told me it was running 10.6.3..so then it was probably only leopard and not snow leopard.... If i buy the disc for leopard will it work ?

RavingMac 03-07-2012 02:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by meliv8515 (Post 1379547)
the comp used to be my neighbors before and he told me it was running 10.6.3..so then it was probably only leopard and not snow leopard.... If i buy the disc for leopard will it work ?

Make sure you read the post in the link I gave you for additional information, but yes, provided you get a retail disk, it should work.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.