Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Tarek's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 18, 2008
    Cairo, Egypt
    15" MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz Intel Core i5
    Two questions about Lion
    Hello there,

    I have been using Lion for a while now and it is a great operating system; however, I have come across two things that are beginning to irritate me and I don't know what to do about them.

    First, every time I want to restart the computer, there is an option to "reopen windows when windows starts" which is checked by default. I would like it to be unchecked by default so I wouldn't have to manually do it every time. Is there a way to do that?

    You can see what I'm talking about here:

    Secondly, every time I restart or turn the computer on I find there is a newly created folder in the trash called "Recovered Files" and it is annoying since some times it isn't remove-able until it disappears on its own. Is there a way to prevent that from happening or is that a security measure Lion uses that cannot be disabled, for instance?

    Thank you guys very much.

    Have a great day.

  2. #2

    Raz0rEdge's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 17, 2009
    27" i7 iMac, 24" iMac, 13" Macbook Air, iPhone 5 & 5S, iPod Nano 7th Gen, iPad 2 16GB WiFi, iPad 3
    If you don't want to keep unchecking that particular thing during each reboot/shutdown, then you can follow the instructions in this (Disable Mac OS X Lion Resume & App Window Restore Completely) page and completely disable that feature..

    Be sure to read the Community Guidelines | The more information you provide, the better answers you get, remember GIGO.

  3. #3

    Dysfunction's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 17, 2008
    Tucson, AZ
    Way... way too many specs to list.
    That's been unchecked since Lion install for me, and I still get that pop-up. I had gotten rid of it successfully once, but 10.7.1 simply restored it.
    This machine kills fascists
    Got # ? phear the command line!

  4. #4

    vansmith's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 19, 2008
    2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)
    Each 10.7.x update seems to re-enable anything that we disable. For instance, if you unhide the ~/Library folder, expect it to be rehidden with a 10.7.x update. I really wish Apple would accept my changes.
    Important Links: Community Guidelines : Use the reputation system if you've been helped.
    M-F Blog :: Write for the blog
    Writing a Quality Post

  5. #5

    Stretch's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 13, 2007
    Central New York
    15in i7 MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 500GB HD
    It's probably like permissions. The installer is set to put everything like X so if you don't have it like that, it will change it to what it wants.

    Which is one reason why I don't just on installing Lion updates because then I have to remember everything that I did before and change it back.
    Blog and Photo Gallery:

    Currently running OS X 10.10

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Questions Re: Upgrading to Lion
    By dpatel512 in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-27-2012, 03:51 AM
  2. Few questions about Lion
    By Wicked x Josh in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 06:19 AM
  3. OS X Lion Questions
    By EssArTee4 in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 11:17 AM
  4. Lion upgrade questions
    By jamesfarrow in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-07-2011, 03:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts