New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Will my iMac G4 run OS X 10.5?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

AndiWhitts

AndiWhitts is on a distinguished road

I am new to mac and have just bought a G4, I will list the specs below. I would like to know if it will run OS X 10.5 and if there is a cheap upgrade as I own 10.4, or do I need to pay full price.

My specs are:

800mhz processor
512mb ram
60gb hdd

Thanks.
QUOTE Thanks
gsahli

gsahli is a jewel in the roughgsahli is a jewel in the roughgsahli is a jewel in the rough

Your Mac doesn't meet the requirements for 10.5. 10.4.11 is the highest for that Mac.
QUOTE Thanks
pigoo3

pigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 13" MB 2.4ghz, 2gig ram, OS 10.7.5

As "gsahli" mentioned...technically your computer does not meet the minimum requirements for OS 10.5. Officially from Apple...you need at least an 867mhz G4 processor (you have an 800mhz).

There is a program call "Leopard Assist"...that "fools" the OS 10.5 installer into installing 10.5 on slower computers:

LeopardAssist