New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

 
Start a Discussion
 

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Migrating from 10.6 Time Machine Backup


Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

 
Thread Tools
Swashbuckler

 
Member Since: Dec 19, 2011
Posts: 2
Swashbuckler is on a distinguished road

Swashbuckler is offline
I just bought a MacBook Pro yesterday and I'm trying to get all the data from my old iMac onto the new machine using a Time Machine backup.

My old machine was running 10.6 and the new machine is running 10.7.

I went through the whole Migration Assistant process using my external drive and thought everything went fine.

Unfortunately I can only see the applications that came over and none of my other files. And the applications don't open with my information it's as if I'm opening them for the first time.

It looks like all of the data transferred though because it used up 110GB on my HDD.

I'm not sure what to do next. I could use some help figuring this out. Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

 
chscag's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 23, 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 40,114
chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, 3 iPods, OS X Mavericks

chscag is offline
I usually do not recommend using the Migration Assistant when transferring data from an older Mac to a newer one. The best way to do the transfer is with Time Machine. It transfers everything over with the least amount of fuss.

What you could do since the MBP is new and running Lion, is to boot into the Recovery Partition, erase the drive, and reinstall Lion. Then, make a full Time Machine backup of your iMac to the external drive. Boot the MBP into the Recovery Partition again, attach the external hard drive, and then select Time Machine. That will copy everything over from the iMac.
QUOTE Thanks
Swashbuckler

 
Member Since: Dec 19, 2011
Posts: 2
Swashbuckler is on a distinguished road

Swashbuckler is offline
chscag, thanks for the info. I didn't think of that.

So, just before I read your post, I found all the info on my MBP. Because my user profiles were under the same name it made me change the name of the profile it was brining over. I had to restart my computer and log into the other user profile to access everything.

Now I have two user profiles. One with the data from my Time Machine backup and one new profile that I created when I set up Lion for the first time. Is there a way to merge the two? Or should I erase the drive and start from scratch per your instructions above? Would that take care of the duplicate user profile?
QUOTE Thanks
chscag

 
chscag's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jan 23, 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 40,114
chscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond reputechscag has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, 3 iPods, OS X Mavericks

chscag is offline
No, don't do that now. Just copy everything from one profile to the profile that you wish to keep. Make sure that everything has been copied and all your Apps, settings, documents, data, etc. are available without any permissions problems. Naturally, if something is going to be duplicated by the copy, leave it be. Once you determine that everything is OK, log on to the good profile (the one to keep) and remove the duplicate profile that you no longer need.

If something should go wrong, you can always go back to the iMac, make a full TM backup and then do as I suggested in my first reply. Let us know how it goes.
QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


« How do I stop a MBP rebooting on a start up error | Snow Leopard install issues since HD crash - 2006 Macbook »
Thread Tools

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Time Machine Deletion of Previous Backup markbm OS X - Apps and Games 1 08-10-2010 08:40 PM
Time Machine ignores my desktop folder on 10.6 Ronnie ronnie OS X - Operating System 5 08-07-2010 08:30 AM
Time machine; reliable backup or no? walkerj OS X - Operating System 4 11-12-2009 07:03 AM
Copying a Time Machine Backup HAH Internet, Networking, and Wireless 5 05-12-2009 12:54 AM
Time Machine full system restore changes your login password- Not Robust darthvader747 OS X - Operating System 5 01-28-2009 01:56 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
X

Welcome to Mac-Forums.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this community the ultimate source for your Mac since 2003!


(4 digit year)

Already a member?