New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Wirelessly connect MacBook Pro to TV

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

MLSsoccer

MLSsoccer is on a distinguished road

Hi. I am new to the mac world and was wondering if anyone could tell me how I can connect my MacBook Pro wirelessly to my Samsung HDTV so I can browse the web on the TV or just play video from my macbook to the TV with sound.

I already have a wireless router set up in my home and that's how I connect to the internet. Can I connect an ethernet cable from the router to the TV and then wirelessly connect the MacBook Pro to the TV? if so can you please elaborate on those steps?

If my TV has a wireless dongle/transmitter, can I connect my MacBook directly to the TV without going through the router?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
Nola26

Nola26 is on a distinguished road

Don't think that is possible how you are suggesting. However you can use the mini display port to make your tv the computers monitor and use a wireless mouse and keyboard to control the MBP. The Apple keyboard and mouse are bluetooth and should work from several feet away. Other than that Apple would have to make the MBP compatible with airplay mirroring via Apple TV like the iPad.

I'm new to Mac also so someone correct me if I'm wrong as this would be pretty cool.
QUOTE Thanks
MLSsoccer

I find it amazing that I can do this on a PC but not a Mac.
QUOTE Thanks
Dysfunction